top of page

Living water


Here is a poem that I wrote for the 4th online Molecules Unlimited meeting (theme = water):


Living water


I lurk beneath water’s definition.

Glass ceiling above.

Glass bottom below.

Glass on my left and right.

I drown in a gin.

I drown in a rum.

It is liquid for lunch

with no smell of spirits.

I form water’s vertebrae and its shape.

Bending light above.

Bending light below.

Bending chemical sense.

I swim a surface.

I swim to the depths.

Looking for perfect blue

in the visible range.

I hold back from wetting the world of dry.

Thirsts look for me here.

Thirsts look for me there.

Thirsts are what I live for.

I rinse this cosmos.

I rinse these atoms.

I wear colourless coats

like molecular ghosts.

I am at ease with Earth, wind, and fire.

Waves inside others.

Waves outside others.

Waves and cubes of water.

I form the concave.

I form the convex.

I soak up lots of heat

when the sun goes all grill.

I surge through water. The waves touch my voice.


-

Thanks, Stephen

Recent Posts

See All

Elementar

Excited to announce that Elementar is released today: https://paperviewbooks.pt/books/elementar/ Thanks, Stephen

Dissecting grass

I wait beneath a noise of pain, I tend my roots. Skyscraper lawn up there is turf, it skins alloys, napalm soft. Break in allies! The green is grim. The place is mulch. The hazards groan. Today I flin

bottom of page