top of page

Cantilevers



I am a cantilever.

Supported at one end by the grounded truth of the universe.

I am a pawn on a cornice chessboard.


There is another me, another cantilever.

It speaks of the self,

making me feel like a giant.


The two beams fuse,

forming a cantilever bridge.


The cars travelling over it make a declaration by honking their horns;

feeling like a giant is erroneous,

and every pawn is important.



Stephen Paul Wren

Recent Posts

See All

Silk and salt

The feel of water on your skin is joy. The water’s ideal salt concentration cleanses, without being abrasive, so each pore thoroughly...

Elementar

Excited to announce that Elementar is released today: https://paperviewbooks.pt/books/elementar/ Thanks, Stephen

Dissecting grass

I wait beneath a noise of pain, I tend my roots. Skyscraper lawn up there is turf, it skins alloys, napalm soft. Break in allies! The...

Comentários


bottom of page