top of page

Your condition transports me to a healthier place


For Paul Cézanne


Your condition transports me to a healthier place


Shadows slip off easels

and places change

and depths change.


like changes in physical state

my depression unclouds


Natural selection

in artist days: short miracles.


Shifts to light pervading

and colour planes

of spry colour.


like liquid becoming solid

I feel the ground again


Brush strokes of intention.

New scene structures

follow the old,

perfect natures.

All seen through the apertures of a master.


Mont Sainte-Victoire

glows with eternity.


so does my very being


Matisse and Picasso

play in your field.

They dream of your condition

until it becomes true.


I won’t ever depart your field.




Recent Posts

See All

Penrose poem included in PWH22

Happy Easter All! My poem entitled Penrose is included in Poetry Worth Hearing episode 22 will be online today at 9.am, https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/kathleen-mcphilemy/episodes/Poetry-Worth

Dancing with Time

It was a lifetime ago, industry and non-industry, out of step with Time. A single lifetime, rustles and noises, is our privilege in this precious world. How does it feel to embrace Time? Working with

bottom of page