top of page

Son of Poseidon


There was a time when Achilles tried to kill my son. However, the plan was doomed because my son’s skin was magically protected against the workings of any weapon. Achilles laboured and thrashed his fury around then employed fragments of armour as utensils of murderous intent. My domain of water is a transformer for the miraculous. Achilles knew he was beaten when I changed my son into a cob.


Cygnus is free

to find benign climates

he is a swan

saved from a headless death

his curved neck

hides a gruesome top slice

his fair feathers

always prolong the sun

he has space now

to ascend to his throne

a full body

atop webbed feet of gold

Recent Posts

See All

Penrose poem included in PWH22

Happy Easter All! My poem entitled Penrose is included in Poetry Worth Hearing episode 22 will be online today at 9.am, https://podcasters.spotify.com/pod/show/kathleen-mcphilemy/episodes/Poetry-Worth

Dancing with Time

It was a lifetime ago, industry and non-industry, out of step with Time. A single lifetime, rustles and noises, is our privilege in this precious world. How does it feel to embrace Time? Working with

bottom of page